“Arab Cooking on a Saskatchewan Homestead” by Habeeb Salloum

arab-cooking.jpg

“Arab Cooking on a Saskatchewan Homestead: Recipes and Recollections”, by Habeeb Salloum

is one of the best books I’ve bought in ages. I have been reading this cookbook in my spare time, and as my bedtime reading! I am learning about a part of Canadian history that I knew sadly little about from my education. I am also learning much, much more. The book is sprinkled with Arab proverbs, and stories about the author’s family and growing up on the prairies.

The recipes are extremely easy to follow, very simple, and have been producing absolutely delicious food in our kitchen. The many photographs are helpful in showing what unfamiliar dishes should look like when one is finished cooking them! As an “infoholic” and book lover, I love the thorough index.

I am truly thankful to the author for this marvelous volume.

To read an excellent description and review of this book, go to CPRC Publishing (a university press). You’ll also find the author’s bio, a table of contents, and even a sample chapter. Available at Amazon,from the Cookbook Store and McNally Robinson.

3 thoughts on ““Arab Cooking on a Saskatchewan Homestead” by Habeeb Salloum

  1. Really? I have never ever read a cookbook as bed time reading but you know what? You’re so convincing I think I’m going to go check this out! There’s a darling little cookbook store downtown–they’d be sure to have it. (Did I mention I love unusual cookbooks?) Thanks for sharing!

  2. Pingback: Mujaddara « …and recipes

  3. Pingback: Yemeni-type Falafel | …and recipes

Leave a Reply

